Government of Mexico Links Government of Mexico Links

Government of Mexico Links

President of Mexico

The President of Mexico is directly elected by a simple majority of registered voters in the 31 states and the Federal District. The president holds the formal titles of Head of State, Head of Government, and Commander in Chief of the armed forces. (Click here to the website of the President of Mexico.) Presidential candidates must be a Mexican citizen, at least 35 years old on the Election Day, must not have held a cabinet post or a governorship - nor have been on active military duty - during the six months prior to the election. Priests and ministers of religious denominations are barred from holding public office.

The presidential term of six years, commonly known as the sexenio, has determined the cyclical character of Mexican politics since the late 1930s. A president can never be re-elected, and there is no post of a vice-president or prime minister. If the presidential office falls vacant during the first two years of a sexenio, the congress designates an interim president, who, in turn, must call a special presidential election to complete the term. If the vacancy occurs during the latter four years of a sexenio, the congress designates a provisional president for the remainder of the term.

The current President, Mr. Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador took office on 1st December, 2018.


Congress of the Union

The legislative branch of the Mexican government consists of a bicameral Congress (Congreso de la Unión) divided into an upper chamber or Senate (Camara de Senadores) and a lower chamber or Chamber of Deputies (Camara de Diputados). Both chambers are responsible for the discussion and approval of legislation. The power of introducing bills is shared with the executive, although in practice the executive initiates about 90 percent of all legislation. The congress holds two ordinary sessions per year, from November 1, and from April 15. Each legislative chamber has a number of committees that study and recommend bills. If there is disagreement between the chambers, a joint committee is appointed to draft a compromise version. For the Congress website, click here, for the Senate here, and for the Chamber of Deputies here.


Supreme Court of Justice

The Supreme Court of Justice of the Nation (Suprema Corte de Justicia de la Nación) is the highest federal court, consisting of a Minister-President (Chief Justice), and ten Ministers (Associate Justices) who are confirmed by the Senate from a list proposed by the President of the Republic, each for a single 15-year term. The Justices elect one among them as Minister-President for a four-year term, currently Luis María Aguilar Morales till December 2018. Click here for Supreme Court website www.scjn.gob.mxbullet

Other Ministries/Departmentsbullet (hyperlink this with the url-